The Transition Point

I am at this moment in my life where I am unsure of what I want entirely. I thoroughly enjoy Washington, DC and all the experiences I have had in this amazing city, but yet I have so much back home in Chicago that I love. I have some amazing friends, great family, and a terrific comfort zone. There is a lot of appeal to being in Chicago, but plenty being in DC as well.

I feel like I cannot lock in on too many life choices without really making an ultimate decision. I do believe I want to stay in DC, but every time I come home certain things pull me back. I have no idea what to think or do, but I guess that decision will be a path I cross when I get there. The more I think about things and what I am doing the more confused I get at times. It remains important to continue the self evaluation, but I cannot rush this decision.

I also cannot lock in on the idea that I should make a decision right now. I should weigh the options and figure out what needs to be done. My own decision, it cannot be for anyone else or because of anyone else. While I continue to work this out, I am going to do everything I can to keep my life moving on both fronts. I cannot allow one or the other to stall out. I can figure it out as to what the right path is, but there is no point in waiting around. I will surely make missteps, but fear of failure is no reason to not try.

I am reminded of a quote from Pope Benedict XVI at this moment. It follows here, “The world offers you comfort, but you were not made for comfort; you were made for greatness.” I try to push myself to remember that. Comfort is not something to truly stride for, but rather we should seek greatness and maybe we will find comfort in that search. Complacency is not the answer. Greatness is. The search is the battle and we must continue to fight it, for without fighting the battle then what is there.

I will continue to seek greatness, not comfort. Who is with me?

As always until next time, be safe and make good decisions…

Leave a Reply

