Thanksgiving

Wow! Another year has gone by. It feels like yesterday that I was a senior at UD about to finish up the first semester. Time truly does fly when you are having fun. One of my favorite things to do when I get to Thanksgiving is to personally reflect on all the things I have to be thankful for from the past year. 

It is physically impossible to remember everything I have been thankful for. It is far too much, but I definitely think it is nice to look back and see how your life has progressed in the last year. Now I am pretty sure my thanksgiving  tweet this year is pretty similar to that of last year (you would have to ask my brothers or cousin about that), but so much has changed in the last year. 

I love taking time to reflect on my life at this time of year and acknowledge how blessed I have been. The life I have lived is not always easy, but I can come to thanksgiving and thank God for each experience I have been given that year. 

Below I want to include a short list of the things I am thankful for: 

  • My Parents
  • My 4 brothers
  • My Goddaughter
  • My Extended Family 
  • My Best Friends in the whole world (there are few of you and you know who you are) 
  • My UD friends
  • My Benet Friends
  • My DC friends 
  • The Chicago White Sox
  • The Bulls
  • Interning on Capitol Hill
  • USA
  • Politics
  • Democrats
  • Whiskey
  • Cheap beer
  • Craft Beer
  • Movies
  • Books
  • Country Music
  • Sunny (he may have been counted in the family category but he is here too) 
  • Sunny Days
  • Lucky breaks
  • Walt Disney (without him we would not have dreams to chase) 
  • The ability to come home 
  • Snow Days
  • Thunderstorms
  • Random Acts of Kindness 
  • The reelection of the President 
  • Smiles
  • Laughter

There is sooooooo much more that I am forgetting. The things to be thankful for are literally limitless, but it is important to not just be thankful on this day, but every day. In my 23 years, 2 months, and 1 day, I have yet to experience a day not filled with things to be thankful for. Through every bad day, you can find a diamond to make it all ok. Trust in the people around you and know that each day you have been blessed to be given. 

Thanksgiving is about acknowledging all that you have. Start by listing off the people in your life and instantly know that you have been blessed if you can get past 5. If you need more confirmation, call someone and see if they will answer and chat. Anyone who cares about you will. Continue living your life and being a good person. If you do that, then I guarantee you that each fourth Thursday in November you will have more to be thankful for. 

Until then, be safe and make good decisions…

Leave a Reply

